Recognize that Love is Shown Differently

We can recognize 5 main languages of love. This is not talking about the romances languages such as French or Latin. We are talking the may ways that people feel loved and show love. 

These five languages are:

  • Words of affirmation
  • Acts of service
  • Gifts
  • Quality time
  • Physical touch

Once we recognize how someone feels loved, that helps us to better love them. If my language of love is physical touch and I give someone a giant bearhug, but they hate physical touch and their main love language is words of affirmation, I haven’t made that person feel very loved. 

Honor Differences

Whether it is politics or religion those differences are key learning experiences. If you are only friends with people who are exactly like you then you dont love your neighbor, you love yourself. I have had the most fruitful conversations with people that disagree with me politically. Its also super important that you dont go in believing that you are right and they are wrong. Nobody wants to be friends with someone constantly telling them that they are wrong. Different perspectives allow us to grow our minds so we cant be more understanding and relatable to others.

Respect Boundaries

Some people have certain things that really bother them. Its important to never aim to make your friends feel uncomfortable or disrespected. When someone says no to something that doesnt mean they dont want to spend time with you. Sometimes that simply means they are busy or even just overwhelmed.

Sometimes its All About the Small Things

At the end of the day, this depends on how you love but their is always small things that can be done that will make anyones day. Small things can include asking to grab a cup of coffee, making them a small piece of artwork such as a bookmark, or simply texting them to remind them you love them. Every single one of those would bring a huge smile to my face. These are the things people will remember.